Previous Presidents:

  • 2005-2006: Prof. Jochen Prehn, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (Founding President)
  • 2006-2011: Prof. Kieran McDermott, University of Limerick
  • 2011-2013: Dr. Tom Connor, Trinity College Dublin
  • 2013-2015: Dr. Richard Roche, Maynooth University
  • 2015-2017: Prof. David Henshall, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • 2017-2019: Dr Eilís Dowd, National University of Ireland Galway
  • 2019-2021: Prof Áine Kelly, Trinity College Dublin


Current Officers:

President: Dr Karen Doyle, University of Galway

Secretary: Dr Dara Cannon, University of Galway

Membership Officer: Dr Niamh O’ Sullivan, University College Dublin

Treasurer: Dr Derek Costello, University College Dublin

Communications: Dr Jennifer Dowling, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Social Media Communications: Dr Gary Brennan, University College Dublin

Education/Outreach: Dr Stella Vlachou, Dublin City University 

Ordinary Council members:

Dr John Butler, Technological University Dublin

Dr Susan Byrne, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Dr Unai Diaz-Orueta, Maynooth University

Dr Fionn Dunphy-Doherty, Transpharmation Ltd

Dr Catherine Fassbender, Dublin City University

Prof Andreas Gradbrucker, University of Limerick

Mr Oisín Joyce, Trinity College Dublin

Dr John Kealy, Ulysses Neuroscience

Prof Tim Lynch, Matter Hospital Dublin

Dr Cian McCafferty, University College Cork

Associate Professor Emer McGrath, University of Galway

Dr Therese Murphy, Technological University Dublin

Dr Elaine Murray, Ulster University

Dr Cora O’Neil, University College Cork

Prof Roman Romero-Ortuna, Trinity College Dublin

Dr Kathy Ruddy, Trinity College Dublin

Dr Vijay Tiwari, Queens University Belfast




Council members meet regularly to co-ordinate the activities of the society and to develop novel initiatives for the society, including:

  • Society membership
  • Neuroscience Ireland conference
  • Sponsorship of meetings/symposia
  • Society website & Social Media
  • Society newsletter
  • Travel bursaries
  • Outreach activities

Please e-mail your comments or suggestions for the Neuroscience Ireland council to:

Share this!