New FENS travel and training development grants available!

We are happy to share that the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies is offering travel grants and stipends to early-career researchers. These initiatives aim to facilitate mobility and scientific exchange, allowing scientists in the early stages of their careers to attend international meetings.
Check out the current open calls:

FENS travel grants for the IBRO World Congress
Amount: EUR 750
Submission deadline: 28 March 2023

FENS travel grants for the 46th Annual Meeting of the Japan Neuroscience Society in 2023
Amount: EUR 1400
Submission deadline: 4 April 2023

FENS travel grants for the Society of Neuroscientists of Africa – SONA
Amount: EUR 1000
Submission deadline: 21 April 2023

FENS is also delighted to announce that the first FENS – Chen Institute – NeuroLéman Summer School on “Motor control: from thought to action” extended its application deadline until 24 March 2023. This Summer School is focused on integrating technology in fundamental and clinical neuroscience and understanding how the brain organises and controls motor function.

Brain Awareness Week: March 13-19, 2023

Brain Awareness Week: March 13-19, 2023

Brain awareness week is right around the corner! Brain Awareness Week is the global campaign to foster public enthusiasm and support for brain science. Every March, participants host imaginative activities in their communities that share the wonders of the brain, and the impact brain science has on our everyday lives.



Why participate?

Brain Awareness Week provides a wonderful opportunity to place your work in the public spotlight. By participating in the campaign, you can:

  • Advance your mission within the broader context of a global education initiative.
  • Spread the word about the importance of brain science and its critical role in helping people lead healthier, more productive lives.
  • Equip the public with the knowledge they need to make informed decisions about their health.
  • Insure a future for neuroscientific discovery by inspiring the next generation of scientists.

Visit the BAW website to plan your event!

Applications for the 2023 – 2027 FENS-Kavli Network of Excellence (FKNE) are now open!

Applications for the 2023 – 2027 FENS-Kavli Network of Excellence (FKNE) are now open!

The FENS-Kavli Network of Excellence (FKNE) is a dynamic and prestigious network of 30 outstanding early to mid-career European neuroscientists; they serve two terms of 2 years (4 years in total). Every two years up to 15 new Scholars are selected, and 15 – end their mandate/rotate off, becoming FKNE Alumni.


For the 2023-2027 FKNE cohort, they aim to recruit 15 excellent, diverse, engaged scientists from around Europe who are:

  • early and mid-career stage neuroscientists with independent positions;
  • Neuroscientists who have completed their PhD work 4-12 years ago (Although there is no strict timing rule, and candidates who are over 12 years post-PhD will still be considered to allow for childcare considerations).

Application deadline10 April 2023 (23.00 o’clock, Brussels time)

For detailed information, eligibility and the submission form, please check the Application Procedure page.

Dr Roisin McMackin – NSI Early Career Investigator Award Winner

Dr Roisin McMackin – NSI Early Career Investigator Award Winner

Congratulations to Dr Roisin McMackin, winner of the NSI Early Career Investigator Award 2022. Roisin will present her research at the NSI Young Investigator Symposium on October 27th. Registration remains open for the symposium (click here) and we encourage you attend to hear this and the many other exciting and interesting talks.

Dr McMackin recently received her PhD in Clinical Medicine from Trinity College Dublin for investigation of electrophysiological biomarkers of Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). Dr McMackin’s research includes the use of electroencephalography (EEG) and transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) to investigate the change in neural networks in ALS, to progress understanding the mechanism of ALS and to enhance categorisation of different clinical presentations of ALS. This innovative approach also has broader utility in measuring changes in other neurodegenerative diseases and in the development of new therapeutic drugs, particularly those with multimodal activity.  Dr McMackin has already published four research papers and two review articles as first author in high-profile journals including, Neurobiology of Aging and NeuroImage Clinical.

She is currently a UK Motor Neuron Disease (MND) Association Postdoctoral Non-Clinical Research Fellow, and is already an internationally-recognised expert in Threshold-Tracking TMS. Even at this early career stage Dr McMackin is known as an outstanding researcher that actively supports more junior peers and the next generation of female scientists. As described by one nominee, ‘she is an embodiment of the saying ‘a rising tide lifts all boats with it’’.

Congratulations Roisin from all at NSI