Travel bursaries

Neuroscience Ireland provides bursaries for young Neuroscience Ireland Members (PhD students or postdoctoral researchers) to attend international conferences each year.

*** The BNA2019 call is now open ***
*** Deadline is December 7th 2018 ***

The call is now open for applications for Travel Bursaries for the BNA2019 Festival of Neuroscience – these are generously sponsored by Science Foundation Ireland.

For this, there will be 2 categories of bursary: €200 as a contribution to registration/abstract submission for applicants based in Dublin and Maynooth, and €400 as a contribution to registration/abstract submission/travel/accommodation for applicants coming from elsewhere in Ireland.

The application form can be downloaded by clicking at the link here: BNA2019 Travel Bursary Application Form. Please complete the form and include evidence of submission/acceptance of your abstract as well as a letter from your supervisor/mentor for either a talk or oral presentation.

Applications should be emailed to: with “Travel bursary application” in the title.

***Please note that from September 2017, evidence of abstract submission will suffice for Travel Award Applications, but awards will not be made until evidence is provided of abstract acceptance.***

Please find the list of previous awardees below and some of their testimonials here.

2018 – For FENS2018 in Berlin

  • Veronica Alamilla, NUI Galway
  • Sibylle Bechet, TCD
  • Audrey Bradford, UCD
  • Dwane Byrne, UCD
  • Silvia Cabre, NUI Galway
  • Amy Courtney, UCD
  • Laura Rueda, TCD
  • Ken Howick, UCC
  • Edel Hughes, NUI Galway
  • Laura McGrady, DCU
  • Kathy Ruddy, TCD


  • Bibiana Castagna Mota, TCD
  • Coral Lapsley, Ulster University
  • Luiz Fernando Almeida Silva, RCSI
  • Mariana Pires Antunes Alves , RCSI
  • Sarah Jarrin, NUIG
  • Min Liu, NUIG (FRM Special Travel Bursary)
  • Jessica Gaspar, NUIG
  • Hannah Wolfe, TCD
  • Sinead Healy, NUIG
  • John-Mark Fitzpatrick, TCD


  • Ruth Hennessy, TCD
  • Giovanni Di Liberto, TCD
  • Rachel Furlong, UCC
  • Niamh Moriarty, NUIG
  • Sinead Lanigan, UCD
  • Diana Olszewska, DNI
  • Sinead Healy, NUIG
  • Dr. Cristina Ruedell Reschke, RCSI
  • Dr. Teresa Moloney, RCSI
  • Dr. Cara Heuston, UCC


  • Blathnaid Hughes
  • Elizabeth Walshe
  • Eileen Curran


  • Karen Ryan, TCD
  • Seán Anderson, NUIM
  • Francesca Farina, NUIM


  • Rachel D. Moloney, UCC
  • Valeria Felice, UCC
  • Adam Pritchard, TCD
  • Caroline Rawdon, NUIM
  • Noeleen Brady, NUIM
  • Weredeselam Olango, NUIG
  • Gary Brennan
  • Aedin Minogue


  • Donal Skelly
  • Graham Sheridan
  • Elizabeth Kehoe
Share this!